Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Project Freight Forwarding and Heavy Lift Award Goes to Allseas Global Logistics

Large Yet Delicate Installation Secures Title for Nottingham Group
Shipping News Feature
UK – Nothing stirs the blood of a true freight forwarder like the successful shipment of a project consignment, and what can be better than to have such success recognised by the industry itself? And so it is for Allseas Global Logistics which collected the trophy for Project/Heavylift Forwarder of the year at the recent Global Freight Awards.

Winning recognition for such an achievement is always going to be tough, yet the Nottingham based group has a history of success in this class including the same prize in 2011 when the Awards were run by the now defunct IFW and collecting a similar title for the BIFA Awards in the same year.

This time it was the shipment of a multi-million pound Cabin Emergency Evacuation Trainer (CEET) from Manchester to Addis Ababa and included installing the cabin, bristling with highly sophisticated equipment including VDUs and electronics, over an indoor training pool at Ethiopian Airlines’ training facility, a task achieved using an electric motion platform suspended over the pool.

The 18-tonne CEET, measuring 15 x 4.5 x 4.5 metres, was loaded to exceptional road transport for the move from Manchester to Southampton, where it was loaded on to a Mafi trailer for ro-ro shipment to Djibouti. The final leg of the journey was by road through the Ethiopian mountains and the unit had to tie up with a 4.5 x 5 x 1 metre high motion platform Allseas shipped direct from Amsterdam.

Siting the unit required removal of dozens of windows to create a six metre square opening to admit the CEET then incredibly delicate manoeuvring to swing it into its final position. The contract, undertaken for manufacturer’s EDM, also entailed shipping a second, even larger CEET, built in modular design, along with aircraft door trainers and associated equipment.

Photo: Terry Churchill, CEO Allseas Global Logistics (L) receives the Award from comedian Milton Jones.