Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Transport and Logistics Awards Celebrate Freight and Passenger Heroines

FTA everywoman Festivities Crown Those Who Lead Gender Equality
Shipping News Feature
UK – Today saw the presentation of the FTA everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards at the Marriot Hotel in London's Grosvenor Square. The rise of everywoman has been phenomenal after it's foundation by Maxine Benson and Karen Gill fifteen years ago to promote the role of women in British companies, a career move which resulted in MBE's for the popular pair. Five years later the logistics sector came under their gaze seeing the inception of the first awards for the industry, making this a tenth anniversary event.

This means that when the first Transport and Logistics Awards victors stepped onto the stage a decade ago, today's youngest nominee was swotting hard for her GCSE’s! Presenting this year’s Awards was ex GT Race ace and TV presenter Amanda Stretton, and the competition for final places was hotter than ever with hundreds of nominations in the eleven categories. which comprised five main categories each split into two sections and the single Industry Champion Award, plus the prestigious Woman of the Year Award, picked as the best of the best from all the nominees. This year’s winners are:

  • The Infrastructure Award Presented by Dave Jacobs Sainsbury’s:
    Above and Beyond – Caroline Milnes Tesco
    Leader – Sue Kershaw KPMG
  • The Warehousing Award Presented by Iris Margulis Amazon:
    Above and Beyond – Claire Davidson J Sainsbury
    Leader Angela Howard DHL
  • The Industry Champion Award
    Awarded to one individual only, male or female, demonstrating the impact that they have had on attracting and retaining women in the industry and presented by Jill Clark ASDA:
    Jacqueline O'Donovan - O'Donovan Waste Disposal
  • The Woman of the Year Award
    Presented by David Wells from the Freight Transport Association (FTA). This most prestigious title went to Julie McCaffery of Asda Logistics Services.

Photo: Iris Margulis presents Claire Davidson with her award alongside everywoman Founder Karen Gill MBE. In her acceptance speech Claire quoted the appropriate Maori Maori poem: He aha te mea nui o te ao? He tangata, he tangata, he tangata. (What is the most important thing in the world? It is the people, it is the people, it is the people.)