Friday, June 19, 2020

New Staff Appointments and Departures Throughout the Logistics Related Professions

Latest HR News from the Industry
Shipping News Feature

UK – The Confederation of British Industry (CBI) has announced the election of Lord Karan Bilimoria as its new President. John Allan CBE, the outgoing CBI President, becomes the organisation’s Vice-President. Lord Bilimoria founded Cobra Beer in 1989 and remains its Chairman to this day. He was also founding Chair on the UK-India Business Council.

Lord Bilimoria was elected by an overwhelming majority of CBI members who participated in the ballot during the CBI's Annual General Meeting, becoming the first President in the organisation’s history from a Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) background.

Additionally, current Chief Executive of Be The Business, Tony Danker, has been named to succeed Dame Carolyn Fairbairn as Director-General in November. Fairbairn had expected to complete her five-year term in September this year but agreed with the CBI Board to extend her term, to see through the urgent work of the CBI during the current crisis.

The CBI has received some criticism from Lance Forman, former Brexit Party (then Conservative Party) MEP and President of the Board of Patrons for the Independent Business Network for its selection of its senior members and their political stance on Brexit.

UK – The UK Chamber of Shipping has announced Peter Aylott as its new Director of Policy, following David Balston’s departure after 10 years at the Chamber. Aylott will take up his new role in late August.

After graduating from Oxford University, Aylott enjoyed a 16 year career in the Royal Navy experiencing a variety of high tempo operational theatres culminating in warship command and leadership of the Navigation training school with a remit for STCW (RN) certification award. He left the service in 2007 and subsequently began his career in maritime training.

UK – Ashley Nicholson from Forth Ports has been appointed President of the UK Harbour Masters Association (UKHMA). Nicholson, who took on the role on June 10, is the first female to hold the title and she is the youngest certificated Harbour Master in the UK to hold the role with the UKHMA.

UK – Perishable Movements Ltd (PML) has appointed Gustavo Mundel into the newly created role of Charter Freight Manager.

UK – Logistics firm Magnus Group has announced Emma Lightfoot as its new Head of HR. Lightfoot is the daughter of the company’s founder, Paul Magnus, and the sister of the CEO, Olly Magnus.

UK – Battery manufacturer Britishvolt has announced the appointment of seasoned battery industry professional Isobel Sheldon, as Chief Strategy Officer (CSO) and Head of the Advisory Board, to support building what it says is the UK’s first large scale cell gigafactory.

FRANCE – VIIA, the rail motorways operator of the SNCF group, has announced the appointment of Charles Puech d'Alissac as its new President to succeed Thierry Le Guilloux.

FINLAND – Yaskawa Environmental Energy/The Switch has announced the appointment of Miika Reinikka as new CEO. Reinikka, currently the VP in charge of the company’s wind division, will take over from Jukka-Pekka Mäkinen, incumbent CEO and Founder, on July 1.

SWEDEN – Heléne Mellquist has been appointed as President Volvo Penta and new member of Volvo Group Management. She will replace Björn Ingemanson, who after a long and successful career will retire.

Mellquist currently holds the position as President for the European Division at Volvo Trucks. Her career at the Volvo Group began in 1988 and she has held many senior positions at the company. She has also held the position as CEO at TransAtlantic 2012-2015. Mellquist will join Volvo Penta on July 1, and take up her new position on September 1.

CANADA – Horizon North Logistics has announced that Drew Knight will be appointed as Chief Financial Officer, effective July 2.

WORLDWIDE – Friend of the Sea has announced the appointments of nine experts to its newly-formed Scientific Committee advising the Friend of the Sea Dolphin and Whale Watching standard. The new committee members are Mehdi Aissi of Tunisia, Jessica Alessi and Cristina Fiori of Italy, Chiara Giulia Bertulli of the UK, Mariano Coscarella from Argentina, Putu Liza Musika of Indonesia, Enrico Pirotta of Ireland, Valeria Senigaglia of Australia and Ann Carole Vallejo of Colombia. There is one committee member from each continent. They will serve until June, 2022.

Photo: Lord Karan Bilimoria, new President at the CBI